Departments of Study

Berea College offers majors in thirty-four (34) fields of study, some offering multiple curricula that, upon successful completion, lead to Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) and/or Bachelor of Science (B.S.) degrees. Most degree programs require a minimum of 32 earned course credits; the Nursing Department typically requires a minimum of 34 earned course credits. Because of the sequential nature of some degree programs, students interested in a particular major should read carefully the requirements and recommendations outlined in the this publication. A Curriculum Guide for each major is made available to students and advisors through the Office of Registrar, but the descriptions in this publication remain the official source for information concerning degree requirements. Descriptions of all current majors and minors can be found here.

 African & African American Studies  Health and Human Performance
 Agriculture and Natural Resources  History
     Forest Resource Management Minor  Mathematics
 Appalachian Studies  Music
 Art (Art History and Studio Art)  Nursing
 Asian Studies  Peace and Social Justice Studies
 Biology  Philosophy
 Business  Physics
 Chemistry  Political Science
 Child and Family Studies  Psychology
 Communication  Religion
     Broadcast Journalism Minor  Sociology
 Computer & Information Science  Sustainability and Environmental Studies
 Economics  Technology and Applied Design
 Education Studies  Theatre
 English       Film Production Minor
 Foreign Languages  Women’s and Gender Studies
 Interdisciplinary Minors  
 Broadcast Journalism Minor  
 Digital Media Minor  
 Film Production Minor  
 Forest Resource Management Minor  
 Law, Ethics, and Society