Education Studies:

Beldon Graduate School Fellowship

Awarded annually to Berea College outstanding graduating seniors who have met the requirements for teacher certification or recent (last five years) outstanding graduates, who have taught at the pre-college level with skill and devotion, and plan to enroll in graduate school for further professional development. The students selected must have a superior academic record. This award is supported by a gift from the Harriet Poynter Beldon Memorial Fund.

George and Elgetha Bell Scholarship in Education

The Bell family and Alma Powell established a scholarship in honor of their predecessors, George and Elgetha Bell. The scholarship is awarded to an outstanding junior student preparing for the teaching profession.

Mildred A. Bolt Award

Awarded annually to the student judged by the Education Studies Department to be outstanding in scholarship and in teaching potential.

Lucille Bush Duncan Award in Education

The Lucille Bush Duncan Award in Education was established by William A. Cook, a former professional associate, in recognition of Lucille Duncan’s contributions as a teacher, humanitarian, and benefactor of educational causes. The award is given annually to the junior members of Kappa Delta Pi judged by the Education Studies faculty to be outstanding in scholarship and potential service to society.

May Harrison Lambert Memorial Award in Elementary Education

Awarded to an outstanding graduating senior who shows great promise as an elementary teacher. Her son, Dr. Dean Warren Lambert, and her friends established this award.

Dr. Lee E. Wickline Scholarship

Given in honor of Dr. Lee E. Wickline, class of ’49. The recipient must be a full-time enrolled junior or senior with a major or minor in education who shows evidence of being well-rounded, demonstrates an enthusiastic interest in school and community activities, and has an awareness of universal human values.