Natural and Physical Sciences:

John S. Bangson Biological Science Awards

Established by Mrs. John Bangson to honor Dr. John S. Bangson, former Chairman of the Department of Biology at Berea College. These awards are given annually to two students: a sophomore with the highest grades in biology and a graduating senior Biology major chosen on the basis of grades and leadership potential.

Guenther O. R. Brann Memorial Scholarship in Biology

Established by Mr. E. R. Brann, Class of 1942, in honor of Guenther O. R. Brann, this scholarship is awarded annually to a Biology major for outstanding scholarship, superior character, and financial need.

Lilli Brann Scholarship in Physical Sciences

The Lilli Brann Scholarship in Physical Sciences was given by Mr. E. R. Brann, Class of 1942, of Madison, Wisconsin, in honor of his mother. Awarded annually to the students who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship in their chosen field, superior character in their everyday life, and have financial need.

Kathleen S. and Frederick C. Crawford Award for Excellence

Endowed award established by Kathleen Crawford Estate for excellence in scholarship, preferably in the filed of natural history, forestry, conservation or preservation of wildlife.

J. Stanton King Science Award

Awarded annually to a junior or senior majoring in Biology, Chemistry, or Physics. The student must have exhibited excellence in both academic and personal life. The American Association of Clinical Chemistry established the award in honor of Dr. J. Stanton King, a Berea alumnus.

Waldemar Noll Prize in Physics

Presented annually to the senior Physics major with the highest scholastic standing in the major field, the prize is established in memory of Dr. Waldemar Noll, former Professor of Physics at Berea College.

Underwood-Alger Biology Scholarship

The scholarship is awarded to students who have declared a major in Biology and who have exhibited excellence in scholarship, as well as financial need.