Nursing and Pre-Medical:

W. H. and Mabel Simmons Dean Scholarship

Awarded annually to a sophomore student in nursing, pred-medical, or pre-dentistry fields who has at least a B average and demonstrates financial need and Christian leadership. The scholarship was made possible by a grant from the Dean family.

Edd C. Hogg Memorial Scholarship

The Edd C. Hogg Memorial Scholarship was established by family and friends in recognition of Dr. Hogg’s many years of service to Berea College. The scholarship is given annually to students demonstrating Christian faith, economic need, and academic achievement. Recipients are chosen from among second-term juniors majoring in Agriculture and Natural Resources or Nursing at Berea College. The award is presented to two students, one in each major.

Julia Braden Thompson Award

This award was established by Audine T. Adams in memory of her mother to provide an award to the pre-medical or Nursing student at Berea College who has achieved an outstanding academic record, who manifests professional promise, and who exemplifies excellent moral character.

Norman C. and Rose B. Wheeler Scholarship

The award was established by family and friends as a memorial in honor of Dr. Norman C. Wheeler ’36 and his wife, Rose B. Wheeler ’38. Dr. Wheeler practiced medicine in Berea for a number of years and then devoted 15 years to medical research. The scholarship is given annually to a Berea pre-medical student with financial need and high scholastic achievement.

Martha E. Wylie Award

The Wylie Award is awarded annually to a junior Nursing student to recognize superior achievement in nursing. Martha E. Wylie was an Associate Professor of Nursing at Berea College.